Biancas of the Caribbean

Happy Holiday Weekend!

I am headed to the Caribbean tomorrow on a fabulous seven-day cruise with Preston and his family. My highly-organized overly-excited self has already planned out every hour of every day which makes me worry that Preston might actually throw me overboard. You could say that the two of us travel differently. It’s not a bad thing, in fact it might even be good for us to balance each other out, but if one of us was in charge of the entire vacation, blood would be shed. I’m just sayin’.

I like to be moving and to see different sights throughout the day while Preston wants to kick back, relax and enjoy the sunshine on a beach chair (and 4, 5 or 6 tequila’s). I can lay out with the best of them, but we are going to be on a floating city! There is a salsa dancing club, wine tasting, islands with exotic sea life… How can you chill in a beach chair when you know you are missing all of those awesome things?

Ironically, in life we are the other way around. I am the laid back no worries gal while Preston is anal retentive and ‘planny’ (I don’t know how else to describe it). Helping him pack his suitcase was like *insert frustratng situation* with Larry David.

I can empathize with his vacation style if I channel childhood Bianca. Papa Vanderstappen has always taken us on some pretty epic vacations, but his travel ADD is worse than mine by a million. I’ve never even seen him lay, sit, look at a beach chair. He’s the only man in the world who WILL see every sight from the guide books and then some. His adventures were awesome – cliff jumping, caves, boating, rock climbing, but it’s non stop. I remember being a kid and being so over reading about historical sites. Oh this is where Ernest Hemingway’s ashes were scattered? Who the f*ck is Ernest Hemingway, Dad? (I had a sassy mouth on me as a kid). It was the same sentiment I had for Animal Farm at the time, I just don’t understand this shit.

Now that I’m older and wiser and that whole apple & tree thing has proven true, I love the historical shit (and Ernest Hemingway (but definitely not Animal Farm)) but can see why not everybody does. I can see where Preston is coming from. Sometimes you just want to do what you want to do, and if that means drinking $15 daquiris while watching pre-recorded basketball games, I’m not going to interfere.

In a surprising twist, Papa Vanderstappen recommend I embrace the relaxing travel style of Preston and family since I have never experienced it; suggesting that I might actually enjoy relaxing poolside. While unlikely, it’s not impossible. I’ll keep you posted.

Regardless of how my vacation is spent, it’s going to be incredible and I can’t wait! You can’t go wrong with sunshine, beaches and margs.

Bailey, I wish you the best at the wedding from hell and Bridget, hold down the fort.

Still amazed the state of CA thinks 7th Graders will understand the connection between Animal Farm and pre-Stalin era WWII,
-Bianca

3 Comments

Filed under Bianca

3 responses to “Biancas of the Caribbean

  1. justmarriedgirl

    I have a similar problem in that my body and wants to relax on a vacation, but my mind feels guilty for not exploring. I start thinking to myself, “How can I visit ____ and not see ____.” Mike is even worse, and as a result, we often end up on some kind of Bataan Death March that totally wears us out. Sometimes, we really enjoy the bustle (fun trip to Arizona), and sometimes, we learn to late that what we really needed was to sit on the beach and do nothing (honeymoon to Hawaii).

    Anyway, I am totally jealous of everyone embarking on vacations and trips to the beach this weekend. I’ll be having a sad little barbecue at my house, too pregnant to do anything but sweat it out in the most unattractive shorts you’ve ever seen. Sigh.

    Have a great time!!

  2. I absolutely hated animal farm, but I read it in 7th grade…I sort of wonder if I’d like it more now?

    -L

  3. Totally jealous of your cruise! I hope you have a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

