Something is wrong with Utah adolescents

Hello ladies!
 
I feel like it has been decades since I have written you a proper email and I apologize. I have been recovering from February which involved way too many activities. I went from the Dew Tour at Snowbasin to being thrown into work. It has been traumatizing (not really, just going from working at home 5 hours a week to 20 hours in an “office” is a little trying.)
 
But really let’s back track. Dew Tour. I have never felt so looked up to by 13-18 year old boys in my life. Walking around with a backpack full of Mountain Dew, opening 300+ cans of Dew with my own bleeding fingers (code red, throwback, voltage, you name it I opened it). Gaggles of boys were seeing how many mini cups of Dew they could chug. They would say things like “he drank 75 of these last year,” like I should be impressed. Please. If it was a shot of vodka it would be a different story. Another part of the job was putting decals on helmets, snowboards, cell phones, etc. Parents would ask me what kind of training I had to put on stickers, because I was so good at it. It was really quite an accomplishment. After 4 days and $600 I still don’t know if it was worth it. My nails still haven’t grown back. And for some reason I feel like this had to be the most annoying stop of the Tour. Something is wrong with Utah adolecents.
 
Anyways on a completely different, yet still irritating Utah subject …how ‘bout Brandon Davies? If you live in Utah, let alone anywhere in America and haven’t heard about this you may live under a rock. The BYU mega-basketball star who was suspended for having premarital sex. How many other of the non-LDS players do you think are sitting there quivering in their boxer briefs that they are going to be outted, too? We all went to college, we all know they get play on and off the court. Everyone who goes to BYU is NOT a perfect little Mormon. But also who is the chick (his “girlfriend”?) who spilt the beans? I mean either way I guess he knew what he was signing up for when he went to that institution, no harsh words, but still I have to feel sorry for the kid.
 
I guess all in all I have to feel sorry for our state’s reputation. You never hear about the cool things that are happening here on the national news, only the weird shit. Sister wives, BYU, state guns…. we need a state image revamp and pronto. I’m sick of being in another city and someone mocking me for where I live. I mean yes they are ignorant, but still it’s because they probably don’t hear anything else. I mean I love living here and hate the remarks,  so why sit around. I think we should start the campaign.  Who’s up for it?
 
Making my top ten reasons I ❤ SL,UT,
Bailey

3 Comments

Filed under Bailey

3 responses to “Something is wrong with Utah adolescents

  1. singleasfuck (Tylar)

    Serving large amounts of mountain dew to teenage boys..what could go wrong??

    And yes, Utah certainly does seem to pick up a bad rep! I’ll admit that when my roommate’s younger cousin started talking about applying to BYU we quickly sat her down for a very serious conversation..
    -Tylar

  2. i think people have problems trusting Utah because it’s a Dry State. This freaks people out. Maybe you ladies should explain you can live in Utah and still drink?

  3. Bottom line, Mormons are weird, I don’t care what anyone says.

    As for Brandon, I don’t really feel sorry for him. Shouldn’t have gone to BYU, I guess. I hate to be a rule-follower, but he agreed to the school and it’s cray cray rules.

    -L

Leave a Reply

