The Calm After the Storm

Why hello there, return San Diego travelers!

I hope you both had an excellent vacation to San Diego! The pictures look incredible, I bet the sunshine was miraculous. I can’t wait to hear all about your trip!

While you were gone I went to a King Niko show (for the City Weekly Music Awards), a Jazz game and watched the Super Bowl with some friends and the family. Good times, but I definitely missed feeling your presence in SLC.

On Sunday (before puppy training class – Imma kill Wiener), I went to Jami’s Sunday class at Flow Yoga. That class makes my whole week. It’s like church, but with thought-provoking messages you actually want to listen to, people you’d actually like to be around, stretching, challenging poses and no stale ‘body and blood’ of Jesus (I’ve still never been able to wrap my brain around the whole communion/sacrament thing, btw. Ew. Why do I want to eat Jesus? After a decade in Catholic School, you’d think I’d get it or at least accept it, but nay.) ANYWAY. After yoga I had resolved to become this calm and kind and open human. I was going to be the epitome of zen.

Ha.

Fast forward 24 hours and I’m the exact opposite. I’m cursing at everyone that dares share the freeway with me, making snotty comments to my Research Design professor, on the brink of calling one of the DramaWhores and giving them a piece of my not-so-Zentastic mind and picking an extremely irrational fight with Algebra (that lasted a good 4 hours – and ended with me crying and apologizing for being such a betch).

However, after I got all that crazy out of my system, I’m actually feeling really calm and awesome today. Today is a great day, my friends! I’ve been singing and dancing around the classroom and we even did fourth grade yoga. I’m pretty sure my kids think I’ve been doing drugs – but nay, I’m just having a good day.

Perhaps I needed purge a few things before I could actually start a journey of yoga like calmness.

Namaste,
Bridget

PS Bianca – after our IM about Lululemon, I went to the showroom to check out snobbish yoga gear and I have a confession: I’m hooked. If you ever think I’m putting on Nike ish ever again, you’re sorely mistaken. It’s amazing. Eff my paycheck from the school district (really, eff it, I blew a quarter of it on yoga gear), I want to quit my job and work at the Lulu store just so I can wear the gear all day. Do you think they put crack the material or something?!

Sent from my iPad

9 Comments

Filed under Bridget

9 responses to “The Calm After the Storm

  1. I’ve ben trying to get into yoga that last few months. Maybe I need some yoga gear.

  2. I like yoga. I feel relaxed right after it’s over, but into the next day? I’m still a bitch.

    -L

  3. Love yoga SO much. Makes me kinda giddy and yeah, kinda cracked out too. I too am still a bitch. I think it’s ok because we are all aware of it.. awareness and presence, right?? right..!

  4. Hmmm… Although i’m not technically a bitch, i do like to do it often. Don’t do yoga, but i’m waiting for someone to combine Tai Chi with Krav Maga, so i can kick ass in really slow motion.

    • Bwahahahahaha I literally just laughed out loud.

      My dad does Tai Chi and it totally cracks me up – I can only imagine the Tai Chi outfits that guy puts together! Probably like waist high shorts, shirt tucked in and knee shorts.

      Xo,
      Bridget

  5. I don’t know if you’re the coolest person ever because you got mad at algebra, for posting that B Spears pic, or because you have an ipad. I’m just going to say all of the above and call it a day.
    -Gizzy

Leave a Reply

