No way, no plow.

Good Morning,
 
Happy first Thursday of 2011. I’m trying to enjoy this new year but am struggling quite a bit. For example, it’s freezing and will continue to be freezing for at least two more months. And because of these cold temperatures I was hit by a giant orange state snow plow which took out my rear window (and most of the back of my car) which in turn has caused me to be even more freezing.

If you’re wondering why I’m driving around like this instead of getting my car fixed, well I have to wait 10 business days for the city to decide if my “claim” will be accepted which is something that is not only infuriating, but frankly just very rude. Especially since the plow driver was not only cited by the Salt Lake Police Department but already accepted the blame. Once they approve my claim I’m sure it will be another offensive amount of business days until I’m driving around in what doesn’t look like my mobile home. 

Maybe it’s the fact that I was in another accident just weeks earlier that makes me especially sensitive to this hideous situation, or maybe it’s that I am from San Diego and have no patience for or understanding of this ridiculous (it truly is ridiculous) weather; but I’ve found that my usually sunny disposition has taken a stark turn toward cynical to the point of resembling Janeane Garofalo .

It doesn’t help that January is notoriously depressing and I just accidentally killed my car battery by leaving my lights on. True story. Do you know how to jump start a Prius? Me either. 

In an attempt to cheer up I wrote down all of the things I’m looking forward to this year, but most of them start in July. When that didn’t work, I let the small wins like skiing and that new Modern Family episode perk me up. Then I read the news and genuinely began to feel better. 

Did you hear that the average weight gained from Thanksgiving to January 1st is 10lbs? I didn’t gain any weight. Small win.    

Did you know that the unemployment rate has reached an all time high for this state? I’m still employed. Yes. 

Did you know that there is a disease called Alopecia where you lose all of your hair? I’m really glad I don’t have that. Really glad. 

I’m going to keep this up, and will back to my cart-wheeling self in no time.

In the meantime, where’s my tail?
-Bianca

7 Comments

Filed under Bianca

7 responses to “No way, no plow.

  1. Some Malibu and orange juice would make a nice little vacation in a bottle. A quick and easy way to round trip. Sending warm thoughts your way, babe. And good luck on finding a little tail.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    Hang in there Bianca! That tail is there somewhere! 🙂

  3. You have a right to be livid! Ugh, I’m sorry. Get yourself a nice bottle of red, a good book, and call it a day 🙂

    -L

  4. And you wonder why New Yorkers and Bostonians are closed-off, cynical, unfriendly people. Welcome to winter.

Leave a Reply

