Engaged or Enraged? Which are you this holiday season?

Bianca and Bridget,

I am going to start off this email by saying if you are going to get engaged or break-up with your significant others before the end of this month, I don’t think we can be friends. I don’t know what it is about 2010, but I didn’t know I had this many friends who I thought were even capable of getting married and/or breaking-up in general.

I mean, 2010 was the year of sorority friends all over to get married. Is it because we are now 25+? Must be because 7 girls got engaged this year. Luckily I think I only have to go to FOUR weddings next summer, all of them being out of state or the f-ing country. I can’t wait and am SO happy for these girls, but I just don’t understand how one is supposed to fund all this. Dress for the wedding, wedding present, bachelorette, flight, hotel, blah blah blah…I need a Xanax just thinking about it. I mean for real though, where the F was my memo that in my mid-20’s I would need a few grand to spend jetting off to these occasions? Don’t get me wrong, I’ll be great at the wedding and have the time of my life. I’m a conservative dancer, social drinker, can talk to anyone…just a little frazzled.  Hopefully I have this whole procedure down before you two take the leap, I honestly am going track each itinerary to make sure I find the best method. I will be a pro. Promise.

On the other hand, all the single ladies. It is rare you will find girls our age have a big single girl posse. Well ladies and gentleman, I feel one forming. Who would want to break-up right at Christmas? Well it seems like half the girls I hang out with. Is it like the itch to just be free? Maybe it’s just the reaction of their significant other not wanted to take the plunge. Either way, I’m not complaining I think it’s fun when there is a big girl posse to roll with, but it is also scary if comes along an eligible bachelor. Take cover…some of these girls are frisky.

Not only are my friends going through this cycle of either tying the knot or kicking their partner in the curb, but celebrities too. They are just like us! This week alone Ryan Reynolds/Scarlett Johanson & Zach Ephron/Vanessa Hudgens called it quits while Nicole Riche/Joel Madden (her dress was AMAZING) & Hulk Hogan/his random blonde slut of the month (their wedding got interrupted by a BEACH BRAWL?) got hitched! I have to say I am quite pleased with all the happenings – minus the Hulk I could honestly care less about him.

Anyway my unmarried but in a committed relationship but still can go out and have fun friends, that is that. In all honesty, if one more of my friends gets engaged and decides to have a wedding next year b/t Memorial Weekend and Labor Day I am going to have to become a hooker.

Off to David’s Bridal,
Bailey

5 Comments

Filed under Bailey

5 responses to “Engaged or Enraged? Which are you this holiday season?

  1. I loved this post lol. Very funny.

  2. i’m thinking girls are dumping guys before christmas to save money on gifts so they can afford a bigger wedding.

    i’ve set my alarm for memorial day,

    Al K Hall

  3. All the weddings for you 20 somethings! Can be quite expensive either as part of wedding party or friend/ observer. Air fare, hotel, and all the other stuff can run into a couple of large and who has $$$ around that’s disposable on the trivial thing like a wedding that has a 75% chance of ending up with divorce? Now that I am 61 a kind of reverse dynamic occurs. Instead of weddings, its funerals. That costs too. So I tell myself “Ah, Jake won’t mind .He’s half deaf and half blind and wouldn’t know if I was there if he was alive!” Even told my daughter and son that living together is just fine and don’t worry about the God and Black Book stuff because the important thing is love. And saving dad $$$.

  4. I feel ya girl.

    We all know I’m not getting engaged this holiday season. And yeah, that leaves me enraged.

    Bah humbug!

    -L

  5. Reading this post made me feel even worse for breaking up with the guy I was seeing before Christmas…however, we’re still talking and exchanging gifts since we still love eachother, even if we’re taking some time off from our so so serious relationship. Hopefully I didn’t enrage him 🙂

Leave a Reply

