Oprah Does What Oprah Wants

Bianca & Bridget,
 
Happy Thanksgiving-eve! I have taken the liberty of taking the week “off” and not feeling guilty about chilling out and doing nothing.  Plus with the “Blizzard of 2010” I had no choice to do nothing yesterday, but sit around and wait for it.  By the way I’m still waiting. So while I have been catching up on my television and can’t help but notice the ridiculous Black Friday commercials. I mean is it really necessary to open the store at 3am? The only way you’ll find me at one of those sales is if I’m on my way home from the bar, drunk and we think it’s hilarious. I don’t need an $80 coffee maker for $9.99….or do I?
 
This brings me to the next present topic of the day.  Oprah’s Favorite Things. Every year, millions of women, ages 25-50 anticipate this episode.  Well this year she did two one last Friday and Monday.  I mean why not? It’s her last year, Oprah does what Oprah wants. On this year’s lists: sparkly Uggs, iPad, Nixon camera, $500 to Nordstroms, I mean the list goes on and on until a brand new Beetle’s silhouette is unveiled. If you are in to the above items mentioned above you can check them out here (trust me I already read and reread, it’s all pretty great). Conan has his own spoof of what happened here.  The women in the audience were literally crying like they won the lottery, and Oprah was dancing and “wooping” per usual throughout the whole show. I mean I’m sure I’d be super excited too, who doesn’t want free shit, but probably not for over 5 minutes. Maybe it’s a pre-req to be in the audience, or maybe the producers just slip some Lexapro into the water.  
Anyway it got me thinking, what would I freak out about that much if I won. If you were asking me 10 years ago, it would be to meet Justin Timberlake and for the VW Beettle.  Asking myself now it takes a minute to think what my ultimate gift would be. What I came up with would be one year, expenses paid to travel the world. I don’t need luxe accommodations and would fully go alone, just the generic around the world trip for one – is that so much to ask? I’m glad I made it through the Oprah Show not slitting my wrists of jealousy, and I hope you did too. 
Well I’ll be sitting here now plotting how I can make my dream of traveling the world happen without blackmailing Oprah…
Bailey
3 Comments

Filed under Bailey

3 responses to “Oprah Does What Oprah Wants

  1. i think i’d whoop and cry if Oprah gave me…hmmm, her net income for a year, tax free.

    Happy Thanksgiving, ladies. i’m thankful y’all have decided to start such a refreshing blog.

  2. I think I’d cry if Oprah gave me a puppy. A rescue puppy, though, not a puppy-mill puppy. Oh, or a house.

    (Ok, to be honest, I’d probably cry if I was in that audience too, because I’ll bet they have some kind of a pack-mentality. And it sounds like the producers and Oprah wind them up pretty good!!)

  3. I would cry if Oprah would just go away.

    -L

Leave a Reply

