You take the low road and I’ll take the… screw it. I’ll take the low road, too.

Hey Girls!

I hope your week is going well! So… should we talk about the awkward horned frog in the room? I was so amped for the TCU/Utah game – and then WOMP!- we got our asses handed to us. But let’s look at the bright side: at least there were a plethora of Jell-O shots and super cute pics of the three of us tailgating!

I think the game on Saturday is where my War on Negativity began.

Yes, you read right: War. On. Negativity. Basically, I’m sick of attitude from people that’s not really necessary. Why waste all that time and (negative) energy just to bring someone else down?

Example 1: Some IDIOT Sitting Behind Me at the Utes Game – This guy may have began the Boo-ing of our cute little quarterback, Jordan Wynn. Dude. TCU is obviously a way better team than we are, do you really think that boo-ing a 20 year old is going to change anything? Further more, do you think that our fate rested only on Jordan Wynn’s inability to complete a pass? I’m going to say no. Football is a team sport, grumpy Gus, and if you woke up Sunday morning and were still a Utah Fan (I’m assuming by his missing teeth he wasn’t an Alumni) you should be ashamed of yourself. And maybe, just MAYBE if the crowd wasn’t boo-ing Wynn, Coach Whit would have tried out Cain in the second half (But why would he side with you boo-ing idiots?!)

How I fought the negativity: Poorly. I’ll yelled at the IDIOT behind me until he moved (into his correct) seats. Oops.

Example 2: Co-Worker of Doom – I work in a pretty rough profession at a pretty rough school. I understand that not everyone’s day will be all sunshine and rainbows, but does that mean every day needs to be doom and gloom day? Survey says… NO. I feel really bad that this person has nothing going on in their life besides their job, but does that mean they have the right to make fun of me because I have other things going on besides work?

Actual Quotes from Co-Worker of Doom:

“Ha. You’re stressed about grad school? Maybe you should stay in for once this weekend.”  —  “You’re going out of town AGAIN this weekend? {Eye roll} I wish I had that kind of time.” — “You don’t know what to get your boyfriend for Christmas? Maybe you shouldn’t have a boyfriend.” —  To a co-worker with kids, “Oh, YOU took a day off because your kids are sick? Having kids is a personal choice.”

Seriously, I’m about at my wits end. I start off every day with a smile on my face (part of the War on Negativity) and it is quickly wiped off by this Mean Martha at work. I’m ready to switch grade levels for next year just so I don’t have to put up with it! (Note: The choices from the other grade levels aren’t that bright and shiny either…)

How I fought the negativity: A little better. I sent her an email asking why she was so down lately and if there was anything I could do to help the situation, etc. She didn’t respond (though I know she got it and has had ample time to respond). So then, I whined to another co-worker. Oops.

Urgh! I’m not doing very well, am I? I realize that so far every negative situation I’m faced with I quickly turn negative, too. Dammit! Hey. At least I’m trying, right?

 Trying not to stoop to new lows,

Bridget

3 Comments

Filed under Bridget, Uncategorized

3 responses to “You take the low road and I’ll take the… screw it. I’ll take the low road, too.

  1. t2ed

    Suggest to the Debbie Downer at school that drinking on the job is perfectly acceptable.

  2. arbohl

    I feel your pain. At least you attempted to show your co-worker the right path. Even if that means a little venting to someone else.

    The other guy? Sad to say there’s probably no hope for him. Sports seem to vanquish any amount of reason that people have; thus, the boo-ing of a 20 year old.

  3. t2ed – Hmm… maybe I’ll slip a little in her diet coke. It might brighten the whole day up for everyone!!

    arbohl – Thanks for validating my negative fight on negativity… Perhaps I’ll continue to fight negativity with… cynicism(/) 🙂

    Xx,
    Bridget

Leave a Reply

