Gluten Free in SLC

Bianca my darling-

How are you?! My Thursday is just flying by! Probably because it is a short day and fun room Thursday for the kiddies. We’re playing friendship bingo with multigrain cheerios. I know, you’re super jealous.

But, don’t be too jealous. The reason we’re playing with multigrain cheerios is because I had to get rid of mine. No, I’m not going on a cereal ban, unfortunately, it is much worse. I’m on a gluten ban, my friend.

I’ve been having really awful migraines again and nothing is stopping them. So, I went to the acupuncturist (don’t laugh) and after some needles and some family history she starting doing muscle tests on me to see if there was anything that I was consuming to cause migraines. Muscle tests consist of me holding something in my right arm (my multivitamins, my supplements, vials of different substances) and holding my left arm out. My acupuncturist would then press down on my left arm. If my left arm was strong the vitamin, supplement or substance was fine, if it was weak and she could press my arm down it was something I shouldn’t be eating/consuming. (I don’t get it either…) So everything was going fine until she grabbed the vial labeled gluten. I know what gluten is in… EVERYTHING THAT I LIKE (See: Beer, wheat, multigrain cheerios, burritos, happiness). And so, believe me, I was ready to hold my left arm up no matter what. But no, Bianca, it dropped like a fly. I even made her do it again. EFF ME! No more gluten?!

I’ll pause so you can stop laughing.

Believe me, I have been teased by everyone about this. Algebra thinks it is a joke (he even made me cry a little) and the roomie and her man couldn’t keep their chuckles to themselves (they didn’t try very hard)… But, I really want to try this. Mostly because western medicine hasn’t been able to touch my migraines… maybe a little eastern medicine can’t hurt! AND I should have you skeptics know, I’ve been off my migraine meds and gluten for a week and so far so good! No migraines and I’m feeling fine. I might be craving a burrito like a junkie craves crack, but I haven’t caved and therefore am feeling great. Rice is my hero right meow.

Wanna know what I haven’t been doing? Training for our half marathon. And guess what? I’m not even scared. Where is this confidence coming from?! I should be shaking in my sweats, but ever since my brain made the connection that it can’t be harder than two zumba classes in a row, I don’t feel the need to train. I have tomorrow off, so I’m forcing myself into a long run.

Anywhoser. Did you catch Modern Family and (still) Cougar Town last night? Oh my funny. I love fall programming. So happy it has finally entered my life again (though not the new condo until tonight… damn internets and cable are killing me).

Gluten free is the way to be (for now),
Bridget

2 Comments

Filed under Bridget

2 responses to “Gluten Free in SLC

  1. Dear stranger who I blog-stalk (aka Bridget). Really sorry to hear about your gluten woes. My roommate is a gluten free vegan (and hates when I cook bacon… ya talk to me about woes). Eating gluten free is really hard for her sometimes, but there are decent options and she survives. I’ve seen her buy gluten free wraps (for your burritos) and I’ve tried bagels that are surprisingly good. If you’ve been off for a week and are feeling better, its probably just a mild insensitivity so you could try moderation. I personally would save my gluten consumption for beer… but there are gluten free beers too! I’m sure it tastes like horse piss but at least there is an option. Anyway, that is my nurse advice. Good luck 🙂 Looking forward to more stalking… I mean reading.

    • Hey Hey Lindsay! Thanks for the comment and sorry it’s taken me so long to reply! I’m dealing with the gluten freeness, but definitely still saving my gluten for beer binges… 🙂

      At least wine is gluten free, right?

      Xoxo,
      Bridget

Leave a Reply

